Car Accidents: What to Do After an Injury
Have you been injured in a car accident? The first thing to do, after obtaining medical assistance, is to retain legal counsel. Our accident attorneys are here to answer your questions and help you move forward with the right steps on your journey to recovery after a car, truck, or motorcycle accident.
Steps to Take After a Motor Vehicle Accident
Here’s what to do after a car accident:
- Get medical help. If you are well enough, make sure everyone involved in the accident has medical assistance if necessary. Often times, the adrenaline from the accident keeps the victim from recognizing pain right away. It’s important to receive attention from a medical professional as soon as possible.
- Record information from the scene. This includes contact information and insurance information for others involved in the accident, as well as the phone numbers and names of any witnesses. If possible, take pictures of the accident, including damage to cars, positions of cars, skid marks, and other applicable markings.
- Obtain a copy of the police report. Be sure to get a copy of the accident report. This can help when trying to build a solid reconstruction of the accident and may be helpful in helping establish who is responsible for the accident.
- Don’t take responsibility. Some people react with guilt after an accident and apologize or claim responsibility. Avoid doing this. You don’t know all the factors involved. Even if you feel the collision was your fault or partially your fault, you could be wrong. You simply don’t have enough data to draw a conclusion. Wait until you’ve talked to a lawyer. Accepting blame for an accident could severely damage your case and foreclose your right to compensation.
- Speak with our accident attorneys at Southwest Legal Group™. Talk with a lawyer about your case as soon as possible. The sooner you get help, the better it will likely be for your injury claim.
How Long Do I Have to File an Injury Claim?
The length of time you have to file an injury claim after an accident is called the statute of limitations. The clock starts ticking at the date the injury took place, or at the date the injury was discovered. In California, there is a two-year deadline for filing an injury claim after an accident. This includes personal injury and wrongful death claim. If you only want to file a claim for damages to your vehicle, the deadline is three years.
The statute of limitations in other states we practice is:
- Texas - two years
- Nevada - two years
- New Mexico - three years
- Oregon - two years
- Colorado - three years
Call our office at (800) 985-9565 for a free evaluation of your case.
A satisfied client is the best advertisement.
A confidential settlement, which is believed to be the largest personal injury settlement for the county in which the case was venued.
$5,000,000 for a husband and wife where the husband sustained a brachial plexus injury in a motor vehicle accident.
$4,400,000 award for a client who injured his neck in a motor vehicle accident. Defendants' top offer was $410,000.